News Flash Home
The original item was published from 1/26/2022 10:03:00 AM to 2/18/2022 5:05:02 PM.

News Flash

Latest News

Posted on: January 21, 2022

[ARCHIVED] Board Elects New Chairman

Chairman Blair Ciklin

Blair J. Ciklin has been elected as the new chairman of the Port of Palm Beach District Board of Commissioners. During Thursday's Regular Board of Commissioners meeting, the fellow members of the five-member Port Board unanimously elected Ciklin. He succeeds Joseph D. Anderson as Chair. 

Commissioners Joseph Anderson and Blair Ciklin

 Ciklin is the longest serving Port Commissioner on the board. 

 "I have watched the port grow from a small operation with minimal business to the strong economic engine it is today; handling more than $14 billion in commodities and supporting more than 3,800 jobs," Chairman Ciklin said. 
Ciklin has spent his time at the Port focusing on the keeping the port in a strong financial position where it is entirely self-sustaining. 

 “Unlike other independent special taxing districts, the Port of Palm Beach does not tax residents living in the district. This has been a trend since 1975 and I plan to keep it that way,” Ciklin said. 

 His chairman role comes at a time when the Port is expected to experience major infrastructure changes. 

“We are currently in the process of rewriting our Strategic Master Plan which will provide Port staff with development options that will optimize cargo throughput, expand our megayacht berth facility and grow our intermodal rail facility. This project will pave the way for the future of the Port,” Ciklin said. 

 Ciklin says he is optimistic there will soon be a boost in cruising at the Port of Palm Beach. 

“My fellow board members and I are looking forward to working with our tenant, Bahamas Paradise Cruise Line, as the company rebrands as Margaritaville at Sea. The renovated ship, Margaritaville Paradise, will offer a unique cruising experience you will not find at any other Florida port,” Ciklin said. 

The first Margaritaville Paradise sailing is scheduled for April 30. 

During Thursday’s Regular Board of Commissioners meeting, the board elected Dr. Jean L. Enright as Port of Palm Beach District Vice-Chair and Wayne M. Richards as Secretary- Treasurer. 

Dr. Jean L. Enright, Vice-Chair  Wayne M. Richards, Secretary/ Treasurer

Click here to learn more about each member of the Port of Palm Beach District’s Board of Commissioners.

Facebook Twitter Email